ESL Jobs - ESL, EFL, TEFL, TESOL Teaching Jobs
  • FREE Weekly ESL Jobs
  • ESL, EFL, TESL, TEFL -- Get weekly updates of the Hottest New Jobs direct to your inbox as well as easily apply to new openings!
  • Enter your Email:

ESL Jobs Forum
"Where New and Seasoned ESL Professionals Come Together To Network . . . Share. Listen. Learn."

FAQIndex    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups      RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Criminal record and Back ground check

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESL Jobs Forum Forum Index -> Discrimination Issues in ESL...
View previous topic :: View next topic  
burg

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 6:27 am    Post subject: Criminal record and Back ground check Reply with quote

I have a complicated situation.
I am interested in teaching English in Thailand.
I am a college grad with youth counseling/teaching experience.
The unfortunate thing is that I have a criminal record from almost 10 years ago.
Here is the story, I guess it's a classic case of being in the wrong place at the wrong time.
The police kicked in my parents door when I was just 19. They were looking to arrest my father for selling an eighth of marijuana to one of his loser buddies who turned out to be a rat.
What happened was the police charged everyone in the house above 18 years of age with every charge in the book.
Being 19 years of age I was arrested, basicly being penalized for still living at home.
The worst thing about this was, that my younger brother who was only 13 at the time also lived in the house.
The police found it necessary to charge everyone with the same charges as my father. Because my younger brother was in living in the house I was charged with reckless endangerment to a minor along with a list of other things.
Ofcourse when I went to court all of these charges were dropped/nollied.