ESL Jobs - ESL, EFL, TEFL, TESOL Teaching Jobs
  • FREE Weekly ESL Jobs
  • ESL, EFL, TESL, TEFL -- Get weekly updates of the Hottest New Jobs direct to your inbox as well as easily apply to new openings!
  • Enter your Email:

ESL Jobs Forum
"Where New and Seasoned ESL Professionals Come Together To Network . . . Share. Listen. Learn."

FAQIndex    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups      RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

I need advice on ESL materials!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESL Jobs Forum Forum Index -> Recommended ESL Books...
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Matt

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 10:52 pm    Post subject: I need advice on ESL materials! Reply with quote

Hello,
I am a part-time ESL tutor who has been tutoring the same student for a little over a year now. She is a Japanese woman in her early-forties whose grasp of English pronunciation and grammar is fairly good, like around advanced beginner/intermediate. For the first 6 months we just worked on improving her pronunciation, using a book aptly entitled "English Pronunciation Exercises for Japanese Students" (I can't remember the author's name). Since then, we have been working more and more on improving her grammar. The problem is that I have no grand strategy, or game plan, for achieving this goal other than to bounce from one grammar area to the next, using various exercises that I have printed off the internet. For a few weeks we will work on prepositions, followed by gerunds and infinitives, then maybe some work with different verb tenses, etc.