ESL Jobs - ESL, EFL, TEFL, TESOL Teaching Jobs
  • FREE Weekly ESL Jobs
  • ESL, EFL, TESL, TEFL -- Get weekly updates of the Hottest New Jobs direct to your inbox as well as easily apply to new openings!
  • Enter your Email:

ESL Jobs Forum
"Where New and Seasoned ESL Professionals Come Together To Network . . . Share. Listen. Learn."

FAQIndex    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups      RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Korea's bad rap

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESL Jobs Forum Forum Index -> New ESL Teachers...
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wasabi

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 11:46 pm    Post subject: Korea's bad rap Reply with quote

I am a new grad and I am looking to go to Korea for at least a year to learn, gain experience, and of course save up to pay down my loans Embarassed

I'm seeing a lot of negative feedback on Korea and on utilizing the services of a recruiter. Can I have some objective feedback on what to expect from Korea and recruiters? Is it the directors? The living arrangements? Where does all the negativity come from? I don't expect perfection and I think any overseas position requires adaptation, but are there legit problems I need to be aware of?

The recruting service is English Apple, which has multiple offices in the US and one in SK. If anyone has feedback on them I would appreciate that, and certainly I'd like to hear about any recruiters with a good reputation who work in this region. For a newcomer, I think Seoul or another major city would be a better experience for me.
ICAL_Pete

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote